Hospitality NZ / SKY Future Leaders Scholarship Programme

2017 Future Leaders scholarships now open

Do you currently work in the hospitality industry, and want to get a qualification without leaving your job to study? Are you serious about a career in one of New Zealand's most exciting and fast paced industries, and want to make a difference in it? Then we want to help you achieve that goal.

Hospitality New Zealand is the largest organisation representing all segments of the hospitality industry., everything from cafes to bars and restaurants, right through to commercial accommodation like hotels.

We're here to help make hospitality businesses and their staff more successful. As part of this commitment, we're investing in the people who choose hospitality as a career.

If you're currently working in hospitality or have a staff member who you believe has what it takes to be successful then check out our Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leaders Scholarships.

Application process

  1. Download the pdf application form, must submit a fully completed application
    2017 Future Leaders scholarship application form
  2. Include a copy of your latest CV
  3. Around 300 words describing your career aspirations and why you want to work in the hospitality industry.
  4. A letter of recommendation from your current employer approving your application, committing to support you with the on-the-job training required for the Diploma and allowing you to attend the 2018 Future Leaders Day at Hospitality New Zealand's annual conference in October.
  5. Proof of NZ residency or citizenship e.g. copy of a passport, birth certificate or NZ permanent residency visa or NZ citizenship certificate.

Future LeadersSelection criteria

Shortlisted applicants will be required for a 30 minute Skype interview, which will be conducted by Artisan Consulting, to assess their suitability and motivation for completing the Diploma.

Key dates

Applications to the 2017 Hospitality NZ/SKY scholarships close 22 September 2017 and the announcement of the scholarship recipients will be announced on 17 October 2017 at the Future Leaders Day held at Te Papa in Wellington.

Talk to us

If you would like to speak to one of our team members about the Hospitality NZ / SKY scholarships phone 0800 500 503.

To apply

All Future Leaders scholarship applications must be complete and sent to:

Hospitality New Zealand / SKY Future Leaders Scholarships
Hospitality New Zealand
PO Box 503
Wellington 6140

Or you can email it to

Hospitality ScholarshipWhat do the scholarships offer?

Eight Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leaders Scholarships valued up to $3000 each, includes $2000* towards fees for studying the National Diploma in Hospitality (Operational Management) Level 5 and up to $1000 reimbursement of costs to attend the Future Leaders Day at the 2018 Hospitality New Zealand annual conference.

Scholarship winners will receive peer and industry recognition and their employers will be seen as supporting the up-skilling of the industry.

To view the structure of the National Diploma in Hospitality Level 5 please click here.

* Balance of fee for the Diploma is to be paid by the winner or their employer.


Applicants must currently be working in the hospitality industry and have their employer's support to commence study for the Diploma in 2018. All applicants must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents. View the full terms and conditions.


Here are some FAQs to help answer some of the questions you may have about the Hospitality NZ/SKY scholarships please click here.

2016 Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leader Scholarship winners

  • Shelby Finnigan, Soul Bar Auckland
  • Leon Hudson, Barworks Auckland
  • Marama Mapu, Hardy's Bar Nelson
  • Emma Pore, Hotel on Devonport Tauranga
  • Cameron Priddle, Brentwood Hotel Wellington
  • Charles Tuai, Bricklane Waitakere Trust
  • Amber Hamilton-Vittle, Five Stags Leamington
  • Lisa Witehira, Village Accommodation Wellington

2015 Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leader Scholarship winners

  • Alysse Fryer-Russell - Bad Grannies, Wellington
  • Andrew Hayward-Swain - Te Waonui Forest Retreat, Westland
  • Catherine Hepburn - West Plaza Hotel, Wellington
  • Daniel Ferguson - Goode Brothers, Auckland
  • Krystal Cody - West Auckland Trust, Auckland
  • Melissa Lacascade - Delaware North, Wellington
  • Tanya Swain - Farringtons Tavern, Christchurch
  • Teighan Carnegie - The Gasworks, Wellington

2014 Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leader Scholarship winners

  • Jessica Allen - The Dinsdale Office, Hamilton
  • Maria Beattie - Village Accommodation, Wellington
  • Paul Braithwaite - Tuakau Hotel, Waikato
  • Jennifer Jackson - Trinity Group, Wellington
  • Jackson Lindquist - No. 8 Bar & Brasserie, Whitianga
  • Shannon Rowe - Jolly Roger Bar, Picton
  • Angelique Toshci - Larnach Castle, Dunedin
  • Michael Wood - Pullman Hotel, Auckland

Media Release: Hospitality's future leaders recognised with $3000 scholarships

2013 Hospitality NZ/SKY Future Leader Scholarship winners

  • Adrian Vruink - The Northern Club, Auckland
  • Alicia Watson - Rosebank Lodge, Balclutha
  • Amy Billaney -Village Accommodation Group, Wellington
  • Byron Mann - Elevate Bar & Function Centre, Christchurch
  • Marianne Kirkham - The Grand Mercure Resort, Nelson
  • Mellissa Voorend - Smith & McKenzie Chophouse (Phoenix Group),Hamilton
  • Rosie Manders -The Riverhead, Auckland
  • Samuel Cunningham - Burn Brae Group, Auckland

Media Release: Career in hospitality wins over rugby and landscape gardening for scholarship winner

Back to Top
Facebook Twitter